Author Topic: FIXED: Bonuses are not cumulative  (Read 1597 times)

Offline jcompton

  • Niche Exploiter
  • Administrator
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 7246
FIXED: Bonuses are not cumulative
« on: February 26, 2003, 06:48:07 PM »
b11

The Ring of Earth Control is not conveying the (automated translation-promised!) +1 Deflection AC bonus. Nalia had a +2 Deflection before and after I put it on for a grand total of AC 17 either way.

                   
Cespenar says, "Kelsey and friends be at the Pocket Plane? Ohhh yesssss!" http://www.pocketplane.net

Offline jcompton

  • Niche Exploiter
  • Administrator
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 7246
FIXED: Bonuses are not cumulative
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2003, 06:50:04 PM »
While we're on the subject, _STAF10 is only giving Jaheira +1 of its promised +2 Deflection AC bonus.
                   
Cespenar says, "Kelsey and friends be at the Pocket Plane? Ohhh yesssss!" http://www.pocketplane.net

Offline weimer

  • Moderator
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 2222
  • Gender: Male
    • WeiDU and Weimer Mods
FIXED: Bonuses are not cumulative
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2003, 08:11:17 PM »
This is the part where you have to read the IWD2 (or 3E) rulebook! (Or the loading hints!)

Bonuses are *not* cumulative. You take the max. "Generic" is the only cumulative type of AC bonus (and it specifically says cumulative in my descriptions).

Example: Bull Strength +2 STR and Belt of Yada +4 STR = +4 STR.

Example: Ring of Yada +1 Deflection and Staff of Fooda +2 Deflection = +2 Deflection.                    

Offline jcompton

  • Niche Exploiter
  • Administrator
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 7246
FIXED: Bonuses are not cumulative
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2003, 11:44:28 PM »
Well, we can't ALL be BG2 experts AND IWD2 experts AND Infinity Engine experts AND 2e experts AND 3e experts, Wes.
                   
Cespenar says, "Kelsey and friends be at the Pocket Plane? Ohhh yesssss!" http://www.pocketplane.net

Offline weimer

  • Moderator
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 2222
  • Gender: Male
    • WeiDU and Weimer Mods
FIXED: Bonuses are not cumulative
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2003, 12:24:23 AM »
You actually seem to do a fairly good job. :-)                    

Offline jcompton

  • Niche Exploiter
  • Administrator
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 7246
FIXED: Bonuses are not cumulative
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2003, 12:33:03 AM »
I'm pretty 3e clueless (although Katie did buy me the PH/DMG for Christmas and I'm sorta getting the hang of it from reading them), and remember that I have yet to play IWD2 proper. :)                    
Cespenar says, "Kelsey and friends be at the Pocket Plane? Ohhh yesssss!" http://www.pocketplane.net

 

With Quick-Reply you can write a post when viewing a topic without loading a new page. You can still use bulletin board code and smileys as you would in a normal post.

Warning: this topic has not been posted in for at least 120 days.
Unless you're sure you want to reply, please consider starting a new topic.

Name: Email:
Verification:
Type the letters shown in the picture
Listen to the letters / Request another image
Type the letters shown in the picture:
What color is grass?:
What is the seventh word in this sentence?:
What is five minus two (use the full word)?: