Author Topic: Weidu: Parse Error with STRING_SET_EVALUATE + Reading .2da without Copying  (Read 625 times)

Hello all,

I am trying to write some mods as a little project and slowly getting the hang of Weidu.  I have some experience with other coding (Python, Matlab) but am struggling a little with the finer points of this program.  I'm hoping with all the experience available here someone might be able to give a few pointers...

Below is a block of code I am working on that uses a FOR loop to:
  -  look through the clastext.2da file
  -  finds Fighter/X multiclasses
  -  grabs the string reference for their descriptions
  -  calls the description from DIALOG.tlk
  -  patches the description
  -  writes the new description back to DIALOG.tlk

QUESTION 1
It is all working right up to the very last line - STRING_SET_EVALUATE.  I have no idea why this command is throwing a GLR parse error.  Using PATCH_PRINT statements to debug I can see that the inputs to STRING_SET_EVALUATE (strref + newdesc) exist and are correct so I am at a loss.  I have tried STRING_SET as well with no luck.

QUESTION 2
It has come up several times in my project where I need to read a .2da file to get string references, etc but not make any changes.  Is there a way to do this without using COPY_EXISTING and creating an extraneous copy?  My workaround has been to copy to the mod's /backup folder instead but just wondering if there is a better way.

Thanks in advance for any help!

/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

// Update class descriptions
COPY_EXISTING ~clastext.2da~ ~TestBed/backup~
   COUNT_2DA_ROWS 9 numrows
   FOR (i=0; i<%numrows%; i=i+1) BEGIN
      READ_2DA_ENTRY %i% 0 9 name
      PATCH_IF ("%name%" STRING_MATCHES_REGEXP "FIGHTER_.*" = 0) BEGIN
         READ_2DA_ENTRY %i% 4 9 strref
         GET_STRREF %strref% desc
         INNER_PATCH_SAVE newdesc "%desc%" BEGIN