Author Topic: newbie to weiDu  (Read 7092 times)

josh_clue

newbie to weiDu
« on: November 08, 2002, 03:57:19 AM »
MODERATOR EDIT: Much of the material below is very out of date and represents bad WeiDU practice these days. Please see this thread http://forums.fwstudios.net/index.php?showtopic=3675 for better techniques.

well, as indicated above, i am a newbie to using weiDu.
i would like to ask for your help.

1. how do i add MY OWN text descriptions for items that i created without
  messing up the dialog or string references in my game?

2. next in the following .d file, what goes into the "#"? is it supposed to be
  like a string reference? i think my two problems are related.

BEGIN ~TRIAL~

IF ~NumTimesTalkedTo(0)
~ THEN BEGIN 0
SAY ~Mmm... Hello!~ [] /* # */
  IF ~~ THEN REPLY ~Hi Who are you?~ /* # */ GOTO 1
  IF ~~ THEN REPLY ~Hey!~ /* # */ GOTO 2
END

3. a WAV file goes into the "[]", right?
4. what if i wanted my npc to have a portrait when they talk like minsc,  
  irenicus, etc?

questions 3 and 4 are not required to make the dialog, right? so i think i better concentrate on getting my 1st two questions answered. i'm really afraid of messing up my BG2:ToB by interfering with the strings.

oh, and could you guys show me by means of examples? i read through the basics by Japheth and the documentation included and i am still stumped.

thanks!

cheers! :unsure:
« Last Edit: October 20, 2003, 08:34:40 PM by jcompton »

Sir Kalthorine

newbie to weiDu
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2002, 06:28:45 AM »
well, as indicated above, i am a newbie to using weiDu.
i would like to ask for your help.

1. how do i add MY OWN text descriptions for items that i created without
  messing up the dialog or string references in my game?

Yay! A newbie question that I can answer (I think!) - apologies for the childish enthusiasm, but I am still a newcomer myself so its nice to be able to help out. :)