Author Topic: Question About Creating Pack Items and thier Pics.  (Read 2515 times)

Offline Melisah

• Coran Fan
  • Planewalker
Question About Creating Pack Items and thier Pics.
« on: April 25, 2004, 08:54:47 PM »
If I wanted to create a new item or character avatar for BG or BG2, how do I do it?  How do I create the item, what program do I use and how do I make it appear in the inventory?  Also, how do I create an item description page to add to a game?

Keep in mind I am a complete novice and have no experience (other than creating portraits) with the tecnical side of modding.  I'm telling you, I need all the help I can get. ???
I like my elves dirty!

Offline cliffette

• Timmins Tragic
  • Planewalker
  • I still like Neighbours
Re: Question About Creating Pack Items and thier Pics.
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2004, 10:05:47 PM »
That's a big question if you're a novice!

The short answer is that you should look around the tutorials at http://tutorials.teambg.net. Also, when you can speak the basic language of Weidu, look at the way item importation is done in other WeiDU mods.

Then there's the long answer:

Ok, items are mainly made up of their .itm (the actual Item) and .bam (pictures of how they appear in-game) files.

To make the .itm file, you need IEEP (Infinity Engine Editor Pro) from  http://teambg.net/?page=tools/basiccustomizing
and a good tutorial.

A good basic item making tutorial was written by Sim and you'll find it here
http://tutorials.teambg.net/index.php?page=opentut&tutID=30
The only change I would make to that tutorial is in the Chapter 6. Instead of entering your item name and description, I always leave that bit blank, because you later use WeiDU to assign the item name and descriptions. (An expert can correct me if I'm wrong here!)