Author Topic: Request: Could the .debug report the used code page at the start ?  (Read 2088 times)

Offline The Imp

  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 288
  • Gender: Male
I am referring of course to the OS code page/charset that is currently in use to read things, like file names and odd characters etc, as it can be very very frustrating to notice that, ouh yeah, the Infinity Animations only support the codepage 1252, while you use the 1251 without being able to point the fact. Of course the murder already happened during the files being unarchived, but that's besides the point.
Of course this won't be a huge priority, but just a feature.

Offline Wisp

  • Moderator
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 1176
Re: Request: Could the .debug report the used code page at the start ?
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2015, 07:14:45 AM »
I can't say you present a selling argument. I'm not in the habit of making general changes for the benefit of specific bugs (which do not involve WeiDU itself), especially not as the benefit in this particular case seems rather questionable.

Why not just say that IA is only compatible with West European languages, or only compatible with language X, Y and Z. I'd expect users to know if their Windows was in Polish or Russian or whatever.

Offline The Imp

  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 288
  • Gender: Male
Re: Request: Could the .debug report the used code page at the start ?
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2015, 05:13:54 PM »
Well, I would argue that this would be some what higher on the priority list for the Enhanced Edition mods which need a particular code page in usage to use to read their .tra files.
The alternative being that one can make the .tra files to be auto transferred to the characters of choice from a .tra file that doesn't have them on the fly, but those benefits could be questionable, especially as it's not part of the weidu.exe's own library of code. The following code has the example...
But I could of course be wrong.

Code: [Select]
ALWAYS
  ACTION_IF GAME_IS "tutu tutu_totsc" BEGIN
    PRINT @90010
    INCLUDE ~thalan/lib/g3_tutu_cpmvars.tpa~
  END ELSE
  ACTION_IF GAME_IS bgt BEGIN
    PRINT @90011
    INCLUDE ~thalan/lib/g3_bgt_cpmvars.tpa~
  END ELSE
  ACTION_IF GAME_IS totsc BEGIN
    PRINT @90012
    INCLUDE ~thalan/lib/g3_bg_cpmvars.tpa~
  END ELSE
  ACTION_IF GAME_IS bgee BEGIN
    PRINT @90014
    INCLUDE ~thalan/lib/g3_bgee_cpmvars.tpa~
  END ELSE
  ACTION_IF GAME_IS eet BEGIN
    PRINT @90015
    INCLUDE ~thalan/lib/eet_cpmvars.tpa~
  END
 
  ACTION_IF "%LANGUAGE%" STR_CMP "english" BEGIN
    ACTION_DEFINE_ARRAY conv BEGIN
      game
     thalan
    END

    LAF HANDLE_CHARSETS
      INT_VAR
        infer_charsets = 1
      STR_VAR
        tra_path = "thalan/tra"
        convert_array = conv
    END
  END
  ACTION_IF "%LANGUAGE%" STR_EQ "polish" && GAME_IS totsc BEGIN
    COPY "thalan/tra/polish/thalan.tra" "thalan/tra/polish"
         "thalan/tra/polish/game.tra" "thalan/tra/polish"
      PATCH_INCLUDE "thalan/lib/BG1polish_fonts.tpa"
    BUT_ONLY
  END

  LOAD_TRA "thalan/tra/%LANGUAGE%/game.tra"
END
The worst part is the need to add in the .tpa files too.
« Last Edit: April 03, 2015, 06:06:19 PM by The Imp »

Offline Wisp

  • Moderator
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 1176
Re: Request: Could the .debug report the used code page at the start ?
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2015, 03:13:01 AM »
Well, I would argue that this would be some what higher on the priority list for the Enhanced Edition mods which need a particular code page in usage to use to read their .tra files.
You are mistaken. Window's code page make no difference for TRA files or WeiDU's ability to read them.

The bit about the .tpa file in you example is entirely unrelated (and as you'll note, it is strictly limited to the Polish version of the original BG1).

Offline Miloch

  • Barbarian
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 1032
  • Gender: Male
Re: Request: Could the .debug report the used code page at the start ?
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2015, 06:12:33 PM »
I'd expect users to know if their Windows was in Polish or Russian or whatever.
You might be surprised how many do not, or might have overlying text in English but the underlying codepage is something else entirely.

 

With Quick-Reply you can write a post when viewing a topic without loading a new page. You can still use bulletin board code and smileys as you would in a normal post.

Warning: this topic has not been posted in for at least 120 days.
Unless you're sure you want to reply, please consider starting a new topic.

Name: Email:
Verification:
Type the letters shown in the picture
Listen to the letters / Request another image
Type the letters shown in the picture:
What color is grass?:
What is the seventh word in this sentence?:
What is five minus two (use the full word)?: