Author Topic: ERROR  (Read 4366 times)

Offline jabadaba

  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 22
ERROR
« on: October 20, 2010, 03:46:48 PM »
Okay so I got to the end of this tutorial. http://forums.pocketplane.net/index.php/topic,52.0.html This is what my mod folder looks like. (note its inside my BG II directory)

Files listed:

backup(blank folder)

VondoTheNPC-Setup.tp2(in the tutorial it says put this file in your main bg 2 directory well when i ran the .exe it says it cannot find it)

AR1000.baf

CLERIC2.CRE (my exported .cre file)

VondoTheNpc-Setup.exe (was WeidU)

Y9Vondo.bcs (blank because the tutoiral never told what script should go in there just said it was needed when editing some of the states in the NI editor can't remember which state.)

Y9Vondo.d file

VONDOTHENPC-SETUP.EXE.DEBUG (created after the error happend)

Here is what error says in cmd after i run the .exe

** ERROR ** [VONDOTHENPC-SETUP.EXE.TP2] not found.
Make sure that you have unpacked the archive correctly and that you are
not trying to run this file from inside and archive.
ERROR: Unable to find DIALOG.TLK in:
             dialog.tlk
Please run this program in your Infinity Engine game directory.

FATAL ERROR: Failure("Unable to find DIALOG.TLK")

Press ENTER to exit.

Well why did the tutorial never tell me to make a DIALOG.TLK??

i am so confuse  :'(

and am i suppose to name the Y9vondo.d or Y9vondo.dlg because when its just .d its editpad when it was .dlg it changes to the page with a dog ear like a actual date file looks? if you can understand what im trying to say

Offline Mike1072

  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 296
  • Gender: Male
Re: ERROR
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2010, 04:15:53 PM »
Your .exe file should be inside your BGII folder, not your mod folder.  I'd recommend renaming your .exe and .tp2 to Setup-VondoTheNpc instead of VondoTheNpc-Setup.

Your dialogues should be saved as .d files.  When the mod is installed, they will be automatically converted into .dlg files for the game to read.

Offline jabadaba

  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 22
Re: ERROR
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2010, 04:40:14 PM »
okay basicly i need it for .tp2 is the installation script that installs your NPC on another's computer, by compiling dialogues, scripts, and by assigning text to their dialog.tlk file and matching the new text to the .cre files. and need to replace the lines COPY ~VondoTheNPC\J#Vondo.cre~ ~override\J#Vondo.cre~ with CLERIC2 but do i need to put this line and why is it just blah blah blah? SAY SELECT_COMMON4 ~Blah blah blah.~ [Vondo1] // [Vondo1] is the name of the .wav
file for this sound and where would i find the sound file? to use?
« Last Edit: October 20, 2010, 04:55:42 PM by jabadaba »

Offline jabadaba

  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 22
Re: ERROR
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2010, 05:30:12 PM »
Okay after messing with it now I'm getting

Installing Component [Vondo the NPC for BG2:ToB]
y
Installing [Vondo the NPC for BG2:ToB]
Copying and patching 1 file ...
Compiling 1 dialouge file ...
[VondoTheNPC\Y9Vond.d] PARSE ERROR at line 3 column 1-2
Near Text: If
            Not An Integer
[VondodTheNPC[Y9Vondo.d] ERROR at line 3 column 1-2
Near Text: If
             Parsing.Parse_error
ERROR: parsing [VondoTheNpc\Y9Vondo.d]!
Stopping installation becasue of error.

ERROR installing [Vondo the NPC for BG2:ToB] rolling back to revious state
Will uninstal   1 files for [VONDOTHEPC/SETUP-VONDOTHENPC.TP2] component 0.
Uninstalled    1 files for [VONDOTHEPC/SETUP-VONDOTHENPC.TP2] component 0.
ERROR: Parsing.Parse_error

Offline Mike1072

  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 296
  • Gender: Male
Re: ERROR
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2010, 05:44:35 PM »
.tp2 and .d commands are case sensitive; use "IF" instead of "If".

Offline jabadaba

  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 22
Re: ERROR
« Reply #5 on: October 20, 2010, 05:51:45 PM »

Offline jabadaba

  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 22
Re: ERROR
« Reply #6 on: October 20, 2010, 06:04:02 PM »
http://i56.tinypic.com/f0tg8o.jpg
ok fixed line 49 it was ~ not sure what the syntax error was for comma but it still installed it hope it doesnt make it buggy will i need to make a new game in order to see the npc in gov district or no?

Offline jabadaba

  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 22
Re: ERROR
« Reply #7 on: October 20, 2010, 06:23:11 PM »
wow i never knew this would be so hard using x y coordinates it looks like the tutorial trolled me into placing outlandish coordinates

Offline jabadaba

  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 22
Re: ERROR
« Reply #8 on: October 20, 2010, 06:35:34 PM »
well i changed the xy  and reinstalled failed to work went to the new location with a new character and my npc was not there could be anything from when i changed the states in infinity engine or i could be the .bcs file thats blank i feel weird about that could be everything oh well this was a big fail on my part
« Last Edit: October 20, 2010, 06:38:10 PM by jabadaba »

Offline jabadaba

  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 22
Re: ERROR
« Reply #9 on: October 23, 2010, 12:33:26 PM »
i believe i posted this is the wrong thread is there anyway it can be moved to infinity Q&A

Offline jabadaba

  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 22
Re: ERROR
« Reply #10 on: October 30, 2010, 11:31:24 PM »
this is making me angry i accidently potato

Offline jabadaba

  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 22
Re: ERROR
« Reply #11 on: October 30, 2010, 11:34:47 PM »
i just want to uninstall this garbage now that i accidentally deleted the fudging mod folder i can't uninstall this is making me rage im going to have to remake everything or just reinsall game GAH f it im going to go jump

Offline Miloch

  • Barbarian
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 1030
  • Gender: Male
Re: ERROR
« Reply #12 on: October 31, 2010, 01:06:06 AM »
Um, yeah, well modding should never actually drive you to suicide (though wanting to 'kill WeiDU' or 'kill IE engine' or even 'kill modding hobby' is not unheard of).

So the problem is... what? You can't actually uninstall your mod? Yeah, if it has errors, you can't. I won't discuss how many times I've successfully installed a mod I'm working on, stupidly messed with it before uninstalling it (which I do as a rule but frequently forget the rule) then can't uninstall it. So I'm forced either to fix it or in extremely messed-up cases, do a reinstall of the whole game (which is easy enough if you see various forum posts here on "how to restore an install" etc.).

Anyhow, if you want to fix things, it looks like it's barfing on Y9Vondo.d, so post the contents of that file if you want help with fixing it.

Edit: though if you "accidentally deleted" the mod folder that might be difficult, so see said topic about restoring a botched game (can't find the link offhand but I'm sure someone can do so if you can't). Or just do a real reinstall, I've done it I don't know how many times.
« Last Edit: October 31, 2010, 01:09:17 AM by Miloch »

Offline jabadaba

  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 22
Re: ERROR
« Reply #13 on: November 01, 2010, 01:55:51 AM »
Um, yeah, well modding should never actually drive you to suicide (though wanting to 'kill WeiDU' or 'kill IE engine' or even 'kill modding hobby' is not unheard of).
heh Im embarrassed. really wasn't being serious kinda sarcastic. any way to delete this topic? heheh

thank you for you're input though the original problem was after tinkering with the code I got the mod to compile and install but there was a error before it finished installing. For some reason after I finished what I thought I did correctly my NPC did not show up in the government district. Obviously did something wrong.

Not sure if It was the .tp2(which unpacks everything or installs the mod?) Kind of felt unsure about that.

or when I edited the states in the near infinity for the .cre file felt really unsure about some of those states can't remember which one(s). but I felt pretty confident with my code in the .d got that to compile i believe after I was getting simple syntax errors like "If". the .bcs was blank the tutorial did not list what went in there I remember I linked a state and edited it as a string in near infinity to the bcs when the tutorial told me in blue to do so although they never told you what should be in .bcs if anything. .baf I felt confident with.

I guess the best bet would be to start over and post my file contents afterward on here.

Also I went ahead and just reinstalled the game also figured out my black box problem which I guess that's kind of noobish to not figure out in the first place anyway. So the vondo mod is gone now and I am left with tdd and my old save game files and portrait files. I am really new at all of this lol..
« Last Edit: November 01, 2010, 02:00:36 AM by jabadaba »

 

With Quick-Reply you can write a post when viewing a topic without loading a new page. You can still use bulletin board code and smileys as you would in a normal post.

Warning: this topic has not been posted in for at least 120 days.
Unless you're sure you want to reply, please consider starting a new topic.

Name: Email:
Verification:
Type the letters shown in the picture
Listen to the letters / Request another image
Type the letters shown in the picture:
What color is grass?:
What is the seventh word in this sentence?:
What is five minus two (use the full word)?: