Author Topic: [Mac] Can't get ANY mods to install. Any help would be fan-freakin-fabulous.  (Read 3303 times)

Offline A Spoonful of Awesome

• Planewalker
I posted this in another venue on this board, but this looks like a much appropriate place. I'm new to this whole 'modding' business and I've been beating my head against the wall trying to get one of these suckers to work, with no success.

Basically I need someone to walk me through the process as if I were a toddler.

Here's where I'm at:

I have an aluminum  MacBook pro running Leopard 10.5.6 and have BGII installed along with TOB and the latest patch. I played them years ago and loved them more than I love taffy (and I'm a man who enjoys his taffy </Adam West). I've been hearing all this great stuff about all these mods so I decided to give it the 'ol go 'round. I was able to install WeiDu for mac just by clicking the installer.command file but I can't get any mods to work. I'll give the BGII fixpack as an example, but it's the exact same dance with every mod I try. I unrar them in the BGII directory, and when I click on the .command file (as per the readme instructions) it says I don't have permission, even though I do. After a bit of research, I learned how to chmod =x it to make it an executable file but then when I try to execute it, terminal gives me this :

Last login: Sat Feb 28 22:33:25 on ttys000
/BGII\ -\ SoA/install_bg2fixpack.command ; exit;
rons-macbook-pro:~ Ron$ /BGII\ -\ SoA/install_bg2fixpack.command ; exit;
/bin/sh: /BGII - SoA/install_bg2fixpack.command: Permission denied
logout

[Process completed]

Damn you terminal.

I read somewhere else to copy and rename the weidu-mac file and replace the setup-bg2fixpack file with it, but when I do THAT I get this error:

Last login: Sat Feb 28 22:33:36 on ttys001
/BGII\ -\ SoA/setup-bg2fixpack ; exit;
rons-macbook-pro:~ Ron$ /BGII\ -\ SoA/setup-bg2fixpack ; exit;
[/BGII - SoA/setup-bg2fixpack] WeiDU version 21000