Author Topic: Rakshasa & Flail of the Ages  (Read 11991 times)

Offline Artimus

• Planewalker
Rakshasa & Flail of the Ages
« on: February 18, 2008, 03:20:50 PM »
The Rakshasa in Trademeet are supposed to notice The Flail of the Ages.

I equipped my PC with the Flail of the Ages and left him on the Druid Grove Map.

I sent the rest of my characters into the Rakshasa's hideout/house.  They still started the dialog about sensing the flail and attacked...

Could this be changed for a future version?

Offline Qwinn

• Planewalker
Re: Rakshasa & Flail of the Ages
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2008, 03:14:28 PM »
Patient:  "Doctor, it hurts when I do this."

Doctor:  "Well, then, don't do that!"

Sorry, couldn't resist.

Barring the question of why one would do that in the first place, at least without complete metagaming knowledge, I'd actually think the Rakshasa could probably detect the flail from a fair distance, not just immediately within their line of sight.

I'm not a developer or anything so don't take this as an official response or anything, just my thoughts.

Qwinn

Offline berelinde

• Planewalker
    • Gavin, cleric of Lathander, for Tutu
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2008, 03:25:19 PM »
The Rakshasa in Trademeet are supposed to notice The Flail of the Ages.

I equipped my PC with the Flail of the Ages and left him on the Druid Grove Map.

I sent the rest of my characters into the Rakshasa's hideout/house.  They still started the dialog about sensing the flail and attacked...

Could this be changed for a future version?
Probably not, since it likely uses a PartyHasItem() check to detect for it. However, if you wanted, you could put the FoA in a convenient container nearby, like the haystack in the barn with the cow, where you get Belm. That way, with the FoA in a container and not in party inventory, you could enter the cottage and not be attacked.

Offline WizWom

• Wandering Kernel of Happiness
  • Planewalker
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2008, 11:08:58 AM »