Author Topic: Problem loading FW1010 in BG1UB for Tutu v4 b3  (Read 3078 times)

Offline benz

  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 5
Problem loading FW1010 in BG1UB for Tutu v4 b3
« on: July 07, 2007, 12:49:15 PM »
Has anyone else had this problem? When transitioning from FW1009 (ice island dungeon) to FW1010 (ice dungeon 2nd level), the application hangs indefinitely. The load progress ring shows 0% loaded. If I attempt to manually transition there using CLUAConsole:MoveToArea("FW1010"), then the game crashes to desktop.

I haven't seen anyone else post about this, so I wonder if this is a Mac specific issue?

System:
Mac OS 10.4.8, PowerPC G4
EasyTuTu, fully hot-patched

Currently installed mods:
TuTuFix
EasyTuTuNPCKits
EasyTuTuSpawnRandomizer
Peerless Archer Kit from Warrior Pack
SirinesCall
BG1NPC
BG1UB
Divine Remix
BG2_Tweaks
(installed in that order)

Anyone have any suggestions?

Offline cmorgan

  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 1424
  • Gender: Male
  • Searcher of Bugs
Re: Problem loading FW1010 in BG1UB for Tutu v4 b3
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2007, 01:30:18 PM »
Do you have the "restore Ice Island" component installed (I think it is in UB)?
If so, my first guess is a Mac-only problem with resources that causes an error. Can you chec, please?

Offline benz

  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 5
I'm sorry, I meant to say that -- yes, I do have that component installed (otherwise there wouldn't be a FW1010).

I found the problem though, and it is MacOS specific.  Line 565 of the setup-bg1ub.tp2 file fails on a mac.
Code: [Select]
AT_NOW ~bg1ub/Tutu/TIS/tisunpack.exe -f -s -o override/_AR1010.tis bg1ub/Tutu/TIS/_AR1010.tiz~
(Macs have /bin/tisunpack, not tisunpack.exe.)

I must not have seen the error message when I first installed UB. Once I manually ran tisunpack everything works. Maybe can we add something to the readme noting that users should execute the following command from the terminal, after changing directories into their TuTu game folder (normally /Applications/EasyTuTu, or something similiar).
Code: [Select]
tisunpack -f -s -o override/_AR1010.tis bg1ub/Tutu/TIS/_AR1010.tiz

Offline Ascension64

  • Moderator
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 472
Re: Problem loading FW1010 in BG1UB for Tutu v4 b3
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2007, 06:45:16 PM »
Hmm, so what would be the Mac equivalent version of extracting that tiz file?

Offline benz

  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 5
Re: Problem loading FW1010 in BG1UB for Tutu v4 b3
« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2007, 10:18:03 PM »
Hello Ascension64. Thanks for all your work on this mod!

The mac equivilent is the command-line executable tisunpack, which the WEIDU installer puts in the /bin/ directory (along with the weidu exectuable itself, and sox). They work the same, but you need to call them differently in the .tp2 file.

The most common solution seems to be to use an external .bat file to process tiz files on the Windows side, and a unix shell script on the Mac side.  Then within the .tp2 file you reply on the %WEIDU_OS% or %WEIDU_ARCH% variables to determine whether to call the bat file or shell script. It is slightly more work for the mod author, but it works. The G3 forums has a how-to at http://forums.gibberlings3.net/index.php?showtopic=792

With only one file, it might be easier to keep it all in the .tp2 file. The following _should_ work as a replacement for line 565, though I need to test it to see:

Code: [Select]
ACTION_IF ("%WEIDU_OS%" STRING_COMPARE_CASE ~WIN32~ = 0) THEN BEGIN // if Windows
  AT_NOW ~bg1ub/Tutu/TIS/tisunpack.exe -f -s -o override/_AR1010.tis bg1ub/Tutu/TIS/_AR1010.tiz~
END ELSE BEGIN // if Mac
  AT_NOW ~tisunpack -f -s -o override/_AR1010.tis bg1ub/Tutu/TIS/_AR1010.tiz~
END

Stay tuned, I'll test this and make sure it works on the Mac end.

Offline benz

  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 5
Re: Problem loading FW1010 in BG1UB for Tutu v4 b3
« Reply #5 on: July 16, 2007, 01:18:42 PM »
Just to confirm -- changing the code works fine on the Mac end.

Offline Ascension64

  • Moderator
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 472
Re: Problem loading FW1010 in BG1UB for Tutu v4 b3
« Reply #6 on: July 20, 2007, 05:36:25 AM »
Great, I'll slot it in.

 

With Quick-Reply you can write a post when viewing a topic without loading a new page. You can still use bulletin board code and smileys as you would in a normal post.

Warning: this topic has not been posted in for at least 120 days.
Unless you're sure you want to reply, please consider starting a new topic.

Name: Email:
Verification:
Type the letters shown in the picture
Listen to the letters / Request another image
Type the letters shown in the picture:
What color is grass?:
What is the seventh word in this sentence?:
What is five minus two (use the full word)?: