Author Topic: Changing Portraits for Non-Playable NPCs  (Read 1704 times)

Offline Parvini

• Planewalker
Changing Portraits for Non-Playable NPCs
« on: April 20, 2006, 03:46:01 AM »
Ok - I'm a COMPLETE newb when it comes to modding, I've never even thought about doing such things.

However - given that ALL I want to do is simply edit a few NPC files to add portraits to them - I am guessing it can't be so hard.

I've downloaded Near Infinity and InfExpoler and read a few of the tutorials but none of them mention how to simply change an existing NPC's portrait.

All I want to do is add the portraits and then make an executable pack that automatically makes those changes (via Weidu???) so that everyone else can use them too.

I am guessing this is not hard but someone will need to tell me how to do it if I am going to do it  :D !

Offline Grim Squeaker

• Fallen
  • Planewalker
Re: Changing Portraits for Non-Playable NPCs
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2006, 04:44:46 AM »
Basically you want a bog standard tp2 header with BACKUP, AUTHRO and BEGIN ~name of mod~.

Then you want code like the following:

Code: [Select]
COPY_EXITING ~foo.cre~ ~override/foo.cre~
    WRITE_ASCII PORTRAIT_SMALL ~bmpname~

Just have one of them for each creature you want to assign a portrait to.

Edit: Oh and should you be changing the portrait for a joinable NPC you'll want something like this instead:

Code: [Select]
COPY_EXITING ~foo.cre~ ~override/foo.cre~
    WRITE_ASCII PORTRAIT_LARGE ~bmpname1~
    WRITE_ASCII PORTRAIT_SMALL ~bmpname2~
« Last Edit: April 20, 2006, 05:00:19 AM by Grim Squeaker »
"You alone can make my song take flight..."

Offline Parvini

• Planewalker
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2006, 01:55:51 PM »
As an experiment I'v been trying to give the genie right at the start of SoA, Aataqah, a portrait..

Here's what I've been trying:

BACKUP ~NPNPC Portraits/backup~
AUTHOR ~Parvini~
BEGIN ~NPNPC Portraits~

COPY ~NPNPC Portraits/AataqahS.bmp~ ~override/AataqahS.bmp~