Author Topic: IWD1tutu  (Read 21343 times)

Offline FredSRichardson

• Planewalker
IWD1tutu
« on: January 10, 2006, 06:52:21 PM »
NOTE: There is an "official" IWD1Tutu forum here

GENERAL INFO

I thought I'd start updating the top of a new thread with general info on how this little project is going.  This may include tons of minute details that don't mean much to anyone but me, but it will at least give a sense of something being attempted here, and if anyone wants to chime in with a solution, that's always welcome.

PROJECTILE GHOULS

unspiration I started playing IWD1 again after a very long time and realized something.  In relation to BG2, IWD1 has something quite different to offer.  NPC's with inter-party banter and associated quests dissappear, but that empty void is filled with a obsesive attention to detail that I find compelling.  I have to admit that I fell in love with Dorn's Deep and the Severed Hand all over again, the story line behind these areas as well as the artwork itself pulled me in.  I suspect that there are only a few other people who share my enthusiasm for this particular game.

For me, IWD2 is a somewhat different story.  Um, and yet it isn't.  Actually, in some ways it's too much of a rehash of the same story.  They recycled pieces like Kuldahar, The Dragon's Eye and the Severed Hand giving the game a very "derivative" feel to it.  The story line is "okay", but various things draw away from it like the "tic tac toe" Barbarian boulder puzzle, or the long and tedious "Battle Square" arena.  I believe that the real achievement of IWD2 is the revamped Infinity Engine, which proved to be the very last of it's kind, and now supported the D&D 3E rule set (more or less).