Author Topic: WeiDU Manger?  (Read 1799 times)

Offline 5th_horseman

• Planewalker
WeiDU Manger?
« on: March 16, 2005, 02:16:21 PM »
Consider me a total newbie, I've got some questions and ideas.

1/ Is there a GUI for WeiDU installer?

The reason I ask is I was thinking of a "Mod Manger" a program and mod directory added to BG2 root directory. Unzip the mod into the directory and run the program, it shows what mods and compoenents "ARE" installed and what mods and compoenents are "TO" installed. Just select and deselect press "GO"!

2/ Is there a way to auto-check compatability of various mods?

WeiDU backups files replaced, logs what mods and compoenents "ARE" installed. Can a tp2 file be written to check a mod "TO" be installed against the backups of earlier installed mods for possible overwrites and produce a debug file so you can check indivdual files? If such a thing can be done, could it be incorparated in the above?

3/ Is there a standard format of layout of tp2 files?

I've noticed the mods come in various degrees style, it appears to be related to the experiance of the modder. Is it possible to post a documented example of tp2 file showing a structured format layout, cut and paste fill in the blanks example of commonily used code (eg. this block inserts dialog, that block does such and such, and so on.), documentation on what should go in the blanks. (eg this entry is X, and  it's in X.dlg/tra/?  or whatever it is that can go in that particular blank and where that can be found?) An example of this kind would promote a unifrom standard and improve many first time mods.

4? Is there a database for Mods that list the compoenents of the the indivdual mods?

I ask because I've had a number of mods I've installed, having checked the read-me's for incompatablilty, installed compenents to find that they have over other files previous mods have installed. These have been mainily AD2  in various tweaks and item and dialogs for various non-joinable npc's.