Author Topic: BG1 proficiencies missing?  (Read 2067 times)

Offline Andyr

  • Dance Commander
  • PPG
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 3178
  • Gender: Male
    • The Gibberlings Three IE mod community
BG1 proficiencies missing?
« on: February 03, 2005, 05:45:34 PM »
So I happened to be looking at Montaron's proficiencies in BG1, as I can't recall what they are without Tutu. Looking in NI:

Large sword proficiency   0   6e h
Small sword proficiency   0   6f h
Bow proficiency   0   70 h
Spears proficiency   0   71 h
Blunt proficiency   0   72 h
Spiked proficiency   0   73 h
Axe proficiency   0   74 h
Missile proficiency   0   75 h

Ghrey says none of the other NPCs appear to have them assigned like this either. So... How are they assigned? Not the same as BG2. And if not by this method, then what're these offsets for?

Also, someone telling me Montaron's proficiencies from the original game would be welcome. :)
"We are the Gibberlings Three, as merry a band as you ever did see..." - Home of IE mods

<jcompton> Suggested plugs include "Click here so Compton doesn't ban me. http://www.pocketplane.net/ub"

I am unfortunately not often about these days so the best way to get hold of me is via email.

Offline Reverendratbastard

  • Perfunctory Psychopomp
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 728
  • Gender: Male
  • "to keep my metaphysics warm" -T.S.Eliot
Re: BG1 proficiencies missing?
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2005, 05:38:43 AM »
 
  if you don't mean in code, that would be:  small sword (shortsword & dagger) ++, missile weapons (crossbow, dart, sling) ++
  otherwise, sorry for wasting bw.
the lord of murder shall perish, yadda yadda yadda.

Offline Andyr

  • Dance Commander
  • PPG
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 3178
  • Gender: Male
    • The Gibberlings Three IE mod community
Re: BG1 proficiencies missing?
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2005, 07:29:15 AM »
That's what I meant, thanks.
"We are the Gibberlings Three, as merry a band as you ever did see..." - Home of IE mods

<jcompton> Suggested plugs include "Click here so Compton doesn't ban me. http://www.pocketplane.net/ub"

I am unfortunately not often about these days so the best way to get hold of me is via email.

Offline SimDing0

  • Back In Black
  • Global Moderator
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 3496
  • Gender: Male
  • Word Enhancer
Re: BG1 proficiencies missing?
« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2005, 08:01:37 AM »
My NPCs have proficiencies.

Offline Andyr

  • Dance Commander
  • PPG
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 3178
  • Gender: Male
    • The Gibberlings Three IE mod community
Re: BG1 proficiencies missing?
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2005, 08:02:32 AM »
What, llisted in the code like in the first post? Mine and Ghrey's don't.
"We are the Gibberlings Three, as merry a band as you ever did see..." - Home of IE mods

<jcompton> Suggested plugs include "Click here so Compton doesn't ban me. http://www.pocketplane.net/ub"

I am unfortunately not often about these days so the best way to get hold of me is via email.

Offline SimDing0

  • Back In Black
  • Global Moderator
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 3496
  • Gender: Male
  • Word Enhancer
Re: BG1 proficiencies missing?
« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2005, 08:48:39 AM »
This is from montar2.cre on a fresh install of BG1+TotSC+Official Patch. No Baldurdash. No Dudleyfixes.
« Last Edit: February 04, 2005, 08:51:00 AM by SimDing0 »

Offline Ghreyfain

  • Moderator
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 4705
  • Gender: Male
    • Pocket Plane Group
Re: BG1 proficiencies missing?
« Reply #6 on: February 04, 2005, 10:42:45 AM »
Just checked montar2.cre on my install, and nadda.  Although I have BD installed, but... why the heck would that affect anything?  Do you have TOS, or the 6-CD original?
Earn Money Sleeping.

Offline SimDing0

  • Back In Black
  • Global Moderator
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 3496
  • Gender: Male
  • Word Enhancer
Re: BG1 proficiencies missing?
« Reply #7 on: February 04, 2005, 10:57:05 AM »
6-CD original.

Offline Ghreyfain

  • Moderator
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 4705
  • Gender: Male
    • Pocket Plane Group
Re: BG1 proficiencies missing?
« Reply #8 on: February 04, 2005, 04:11:05 PM »
Same here.  That's fucked up.
Earn Money Sleeping.

Offline Andyr

  • Dance Commander
  • PPG
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 3178
  • Gender: Male
    • The Gibberlings Three IE mod community
Re: BG1 proficiencies missing?
« Reply #9 on: February 04, 2005, 05:38:04 PM »
Same here. Very strange.
"We are the Gibberlings Three, as merry a band as you ever did see..." - Home of IE mods

<jcompton> Suggested plugs include "Click here so Compton doesn't ban me. http://www.pocketplane.net/ub"

I am unfortunately not often about these days so the best way to get hold of me is via email.

Offline Reverendratbastard

  • Perfunctory Psychopomp
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 728
  • Gender: Male
  • "to keep my metaphysics warm" -T.S.Eliot
Re: BG1 proficiencies missing?
« Reply #10 on: February 04, 2005, 06:58:31 PM »
 
  the Commonwealth is under conspiratorial assault, but senhor ding0 managed to grease the right channels beforehand...  :P
the lord of murder shall perish, yadda yadda yadda.

Offline Andyr

  • Dance Commander
  • PPG
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 3178
  • Gender: Male
    • The Gibberlings Three IE mod community
Re: BG1 proficiencies missing?
« Reply #11 on: February 04, 2005, 06:59:29 PM »
He probably got Mang0 to import him a foreign copy.
"We are the Gibberlings Three, as merry a band as you ever did see..." - Home of IE mods

<jcompton> Suggested plugs include "Click here so Compton doesn't ban me. http://www.pocketplane.net/ub"

I am unfortunately not often about these days so the best way to get hold of me is via email.

Offline SimDing0

  • Back In Black
  • Global Moderator
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 3496
  • Gender: Male
  • Word Enhancer
Re: BG1 proficiencies missing?
« Reply #12 on: February 04, 2005, 07:06:41 PM »
What's the date on your montar2.cre in the override?

TRICK QUESTION. There isn't a montar2.cre in my override.

Offline Ghreyfain

  • Moderator
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 4705
  • Gender: Male
    • Pocket Plane Group
Re: BG1 proficiencies missing?
« Reply #13 on: February 04, 2005, 07:13:13 PM »
Humm.  I wonder if Tutu or Dudley does that?

I have a games\bg folder for BG1 that I use for Tutu.  I tried running it to test this theory in-game, but since the baldur.ini is set up to do Tutu stuff, it didn't work.

So I copied it to games\bg1 and restored all my backed up virgin files into that folder.  montar2.cre doesn't exist in override, and in-game he has 2 profs in small swords and missile weapons, as stated above.  He also has 'em in his .cre.

My theory is that when Tutu removes all the NPC's proficiencies because they do in fact show up in BG2 if they exist, it doesn't remove them afterwards.  Mystery... SOLVED.  Go go TeamDing0Fain.
Earn Money Sleeping.

Offline icelus

  • Global Moderator
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 3173
  • Gender: Male
Re: BG1 proficiencies missing?
« Reply #14 on: February 04, 2005, 07:19:27 PM »
Go go TeamDing0Fain.

I smell a farcture.
<Moongaze> Luckily BWL has a very understanding and friendly admin.

Offline Andyr

  • Dance Commander
  • PPG
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 3178
  • Gender: Male
    • The Gibberlings Three IE mod community
Re: BG1 proficiencies missing?
« Reply #15 on: February 04, 2005, 07:59:37 PM »
Don't worry Ice, I'll stick with you over this crazy pirate. :)

Should we maybe tell Japh, on the off-chance this is important for something (e.g. someone wanting to play BG1 when they have Tutu)?
"We are the Gibberlings Three, as merry a band as you ever did see..." - Home of IE mods

<jcompton> Suggested plugs include "Click here so Compton doesn't ban me. http://www.pocketplane.net/ub"

I am unfortunately not often about these days so the best way to get hold of me is via email.

Offline SimDing0

  • Back In Black
  • Global Moderator
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 3496
  • Gender: Male
  • Word Enhancer
Re: BG1 proficiencies missing?
« Reply #16 on: February 04, 2005, 08:04:52 PM »
Yeh, Tutu shouldn't be leaving stuff behind on the BG1 install. Seriously... check the dates in your override so you can see what's been modified.

Offline SimDing0

  • Back In Black
  • Global Moderator
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 3496
  • Gender: Male
  • Word Enhancer
Re: BG1 proficiencies missing?
« Reply #17 on: February 05, 2005, 06:40:03 AM »
Okay, I just ran Tutu and my Montaron still has his proficiencies on the BG1 install.

 

With Quick-Reply you can write a post when viewing a topic without loading a new page. You can still use bulletin board code and smileys as you would in a normal post.

Warning: this topic has not been posted in for at least 120 days.
Unless you're sure you want to reply, please consider starting a new topic.

Name: Email:
Verification:
Type the letters shown in the picture
Listen to the letters / Request another image
Type the letters shown in the picture:
What color is grass?:
What is the seventh word in this sentence?:
What is five minus two (use the full word)?: