Author Topic: IF ~~ THEN Question  (Read 2012 times)

Offline Diana

  • Neophyte
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 251
  • Gender: Female
IF ~~ THEN Question
« on: July 20, 2004, 02:04:02 PM »
While reading tutorials, perrusing downloaded mods I am wondering if this would work in a branch as I've only seen the IF ~~ THEN used in connection with SAY and REPLY.

IF ~~ Morph4
DO ~DisplayStringNoName(Player1,@42)~ GOTO Morph5
END

I've don't want to try using the DisplayStringNoName via script as I still haven't learnt enough on  how to assign text strings to scripts via the .tp2.

Thanks.

Offline jcompton

  • Niche Exploiter
  • Administrator
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 7244
Re: IF ~~ THEN Question
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2004, 04:55:01 PM »
While reading tutorials, perrusing downloaded mods I am wondering if this would work in a branch as I've only seen the IF ~~ THEN used in connection with SAY and REPLY.

IF ~~ Morph4
DO ~DisplayStringNoName(Player1,@42)~ GOTO Morph5
END

I've don't want to try using the DisplayStringNoName via script as I still haven't learnt enough on  how to assign text strings to scripts via the .tp2.

You'd still need a SAY line in there. You can't have a dialogue state without a SAY line.
Cespenar says, "Kelsey and friends be at the Pocket Plane? Ohhh yesssss!" http://www.pocketplane.net

Offline Diana

  • Neophyte
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 251
  • Gender: Female
Re: IF ~~ THEN Question
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2004, 06:43:13 PM »
Damn!  I was afraid of that.  Thanks.

Offline Diana

  • Neophyte
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 251
  • Gender: Female
Re: IF ~~ THEN Question
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2004, 07:22:13 PM »
Okay - just tried something - this DisplayStringNoName doesn't work like MultiSay - I guess I have to braek it up into a series of IF ~~ THEN blocks to get the 3 paragraph story displayed.  Have to test further.

Offline jcompton

  • Niche Exploiter
  • Administrator
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 7244
Re: IF ~~ THEN Question
« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2004, 08:42:12 PM »
It might really be worth your while to investigate the art of cutscene creation at this point... :)
Cespenar says, "Kelsey and friends be at the Pocket Plane? Ohhh yesssss!" http://www.pocketplane.net

Offline Diana

  • Neophyte
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 251
  • Gender: Female
Re: IF ~~ THEN Question
« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2004, 08:42:27 AM »
Quote
It might really be worth your while to investigate the art of cutscene creation at this point..
*groan*
I've already started dissection and analysis

Domi

  • Guest
Re: IF ~~ THEN Question
« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2004, 11:29:34 AM »
It might really be worth your while to investigate the art of cutscene creation at this point... :)

OK, that picks up my interest. I want to give PC time to kill the enemy *while* enemy is talking (ie displaying-strings-heads at equal intervals) Can I handel it within a cutscene? Ie can my PC have the full control of the party within the cutscene?

Offline jcompton

  • Niche Exploiter
  • Administrator
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 7244
Re: IF ~~ THEN Question
« Reply #7 on: July 21, 2004, 12:01:09 PM »
The nature of a cutscene disables player input, but you could have a CRE run a script to display strings and so forth.
Cespenar says, "Kelsey and friends be at the Pocket Plane? Ohhh yesssss!" http://www.pocketplane.net

Offline Ghreyfain

  • Moderator
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 4705
  • Gender: Male
    • Pocket Plane Group
Re: IF ~~ THEN Question
« Reply #8 on: July 21, 2004, 01:57:06 PM »
OK, that picks up my interest. I want to give PC time to kill the enemy *while* enemy is talking (ie displaying-strings-heads at equal intervals) Can I handel it within a cutscene? Ie can my PC have the full control of the party within the cutscene?

If you want the PC to actually attack him using regular in-game game mechanics, then you could just have the guy's script have something like this:

IF
   Delay(4) // This will give the player four seconds to read his floating text
   Global("StartRant","GLOBAL",1)
THEN
   RESPONSE #100
      DisplayStringHead(Myself,~When I was your age...~)
      SetGlobal("StartRant","GLOBAL",2)
END

IF
   Delay(4) // This will give the player four seconds to read his floating text
   Global("StartRant","GLOBAL",2)
THEN
   RESPONSE #100
      DisplayStringHead(Myself,~...adventurers had respect for their elders!  Why, I remember the time...~)
      SetGlobal("StartRant","GLOBAL",3)
END

IF
   etc.
Earn Money Sleeping.

Domi

  • Guest
Re: IF ~~ THEN Question
« Reply #9 on: July 21, 2004, 04:11:48 PM »
Yes, that was the sort of thing I was thinking I will end up with... Thank you.

 

With Quick-Reply you can write a post when viewing a topic without loading a new page. You can still use bulletin board code and smileys as you would in a normal post.

Warning: this topic has not been posted in for at least 120 days.
Unless you're sure you want to reply, please consider starting a new topic.

Name: Email:
Verification:
Type the letters shown in the picture
Listen to the letters / Request another image
Type the letters shown in the picture:
What color is grass?:
What is the seventh word in this sentence?:
What is five minus two (use the full word)?: