Author Topic: True need of two installations!  (Read 27146 times)

Offline Littiz

  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 23
True need of two installations!
« on: June 27, 2004, 11:13:53 AM »
How can I do it?
I'm able to install a second BG2 in another folder, but I can't install ToB nor the latest patches.
I get a message that I already have them installed and that's it.

Any way to "fool" the patches, or is something doable with the register, maybe?
I've never learned anything about such things...
(why they don't just ask where is my installation, damn technology) 

The point is, I truly need two different installations, since I'd want to play TuTu, but I'd also have to continue my modding activity with BG2  :-\

Offline Ghreyfain

  • PPG
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 4705
  • Gender: Male
    • Pocket Plane Group
Re: True need of two installations!
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2004, 12:51:33 PM »
There used to be a post detailing how to do this, but it's gone now.  :'(

Anyways, there are other various posts about this floating around, but I can't think of where any of them are, so I'll just sum it up again.

1) Full install of BG2-ToB on your hard drive.
2) Copy that entire folder to a new one, and name it BGTutu or something.
3) Open up the baldur.ini file in the BGTutu folder and change the line that reads: HD0:=C:\Games\BG2\ into this: HD0:=C:\Games\BGTutu\ (or whatever your particular directories happen to be)
4) Delete the CD* folder from your BGtutu folder.  They're not necessary, since the baldur.ini is still telling BG2 (tutu version) to look at your original CD* folders, in the original directory.

I think that's about all that's needed.
Earn Money Sleeping.

Offline Littiz

  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 23
Re: True need of two installations!
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2004, 03:58:21 PM »
Thanx!!
I'll work this out then :)

Offline Buck Naked

  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 69
  • Gender: Male
Re: True need of two installations!
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2004, 09:54:25 PM »
Now, are we talking doing all four steps BEFORE running the Tutu installer...?

1) Full install of BG2-ToB on your hard drive.
2) Copy that entire folder to a new one, and name it BGTutu or something.
3) Open up the baldur.ini file in the BGTutu folder and change the line that reads: HD0:=C:\Games\BG2\ into this: HD0:=C:\Games\BGTutu\ (or whatever your particular directories happen to be)
4) Delete the CD* folder from your BGtutu folder.  They're not necessary, since the baldur.ini is still telling BG2 (tutu version) to look at your original CD* folders, in the original directory.
"Somewhere in a lonely hotel room there's a guy starting to realize eternal fate has turned its back on him...it's 2AM...."

Offline Caswallon

  • Telvanni Archmagister
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 324
  • Gender: Male
    • BG Forum
Re: True need of two installations!
« Reply #4 on: June 29, 2004, 05:31:59 AM »
Yes.
If you do it afterwards, you have two Tutu installs.
Also, you have to start the copied install by running BGMain.exe instead of baldur.exe (the latter looks in the registry).
Man's Mystery
Man is mortal, and doomed to death and failure and loss.
This lies beyond our comprehension - why do you not despair?
--Spirit of the Daedra--

Offline Cybersquirt

  • Socialist Evil-Doer
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 816
  • Gender: Female
Re: True need of two installations!
« Reply #5 on: June 29, 2004, 07:22:03 AM »
Ghrey sums it up best, but for anyone interested, here's (most of) the original thread - I edited it after I saved it:

Forgotten Wars Studios Forums » Infinity Mods » BG1Tutu » BG1Tutu General Discussion
   
Multiple installations..., Mostly on-topic.
Quote
Posted: Sep 14 2003, 09:41 AM   

I thought I'd bring this up here, since I guess many people will be running multiple installations of BGII.

I've got my main install of BGII with mods, another plain one I am using for IWGII and testing my mods, and at some point will want another to use for Tutu. At the moment, I have to rename my directories when I want to switch between doing stuff, as the game always runs from whichever is called BGII - SoA, even if you click on bgmain.exe in one of the other installation's directories.

Ideally what I would like to do is have one named BGII - SoA, one named Tutu, and one for IWGII/mod testing, so I could put in the CD and click one of my desktop icons to run the required installation and save the hassle of all this renaming malarkey.

I looked in baldur.ini and you can change the directory settings there, though when you load up it still runs whichever is labelled BGII - SoA.

So, if you understood that, does anyone know how to avoid having to rename stuff all the time when dealing with multiple installations? A cookie if you do. 

Quote
Posted: Sep 14 2003, 09:58 AM   
The only line in the .ini you need to touch is "HD0:=D:\BGII_folder" (where D is your hard drive letter and BGII_folder is the the folder of your original installation). Just change it to the new folder and it should be fine 

Quote
Posted: Sep 15 2003, 11:16 AM   
Done it, it works.

What I found, for any who are interested, is that you edit Baldur.ini as NiGHTMARE says but when you run it you do so through BGMain.exe, as opposed to the application named baldur. 

Quote
Posted: Sep 15 2003, 11:44 AM   
Now I am going to have to go and get my BG1 discs back....

However, I do have a question. Andyr, did you clone your BG2 folders (I.E. copy the vanilla version to different folders) or did you do multiple installs. Just curious because I have a 'backup' mostly vanilla copy of BG2, and my modded version. Not so sure I want to give up my backup vanilla quite yer, so I wanted to know if you just copied it or chucked a new install on. 

Quote
Posted: Sep 15 2003, 11:51 AM   
I did a new install by running the Setup program through the CD (as BGII was already installed).

I then installed ToB, but as this was also detected for some reason I had to choose to Uninstall. So, here's what I did, in order:

1. Install of SoA using the Explore thing in windows to run Setup, rather than autorun.
2. Put in ToB CD, and run the Setup program with that.
3. It says ToB is installed, do I want to uninstall. I said yes.
4. It then said Uninstallation of SoA will proceed, ok? I said no.
5. I then reran the Setup program and got asked if I wanted to install ToB, which I did.

Then after patches and Baldurdash, all done! 

Quote
Posted: Sep 15 2003, 01:20 PM   
When you install BG2 for the first time, or ToB, it adds stuff to the registry so baldur.exe (the BG2 autorun thing on the CDs and in the BG2 folder) detects it as "installed", giving you the option to uninstall or play it. Not sure what Andyr did to install BG2 the second time, but it must've been weird.

Anyways, to get the second install, just copy everything from your original BG2 folder to another folder, excluding the following folders:

CD2
CD3
CD4
CD5

Then as NiGHTMARE says "The only line in the .ini you need to touch is "HD0:=D:\BGII_folder" (where D is your hard drive letter and BGII_folder is the the folder of your original installation). Just change it to the new folder and it should be fine." Make sure it's the new baldur.ini you copied, not the original one in the original directory. 

Quote
Posted: Sep 24 2003, 03:41 PM   
QUOTE (Fillem @ Sep 24 2003, 06:35 PM)
does this mean that tutu doesn't modify files from cd 2 - 5 (since you don't need to copy those?) 
/quote

It doesn't modify the BG2 data folders, no. We're talking about having two versions of BG2 installed. One with the CD2-5 folders, and the other just points to those same folders.
i.e.
My BG2 game is:
c:\games\bg2
c:\games\bg2\cd2
c:\games\bg2\cd3
c:\games\bg2\cd4
c:\games\bg2\cd5

My Tutu game is:
c:\games\bgtutu
c:\games\bg2\cd2
c:\games\bg2\cd3
c:\games\bg2\cd4
c:\games\bg2\cd5

Plus the BG1 installation, which you don't need to worry about, as long as you choose "Custom Install" and select everything there is. 

Quote
Posted: Sep 24 2003, 03:59 PM   

I was just wondering, because the in the .ini everything still points to the original folder... 

Quote
Posted: Sep 24 2003, 04:25 PM   

Yes, which is why Andyr (or someone) said you need to change the line that reads "Hard drive". 

Quote
Posted: Sep 24 2003, 05:01 PM   

d;oh!

thanks, it's all working like a charm now!

enjoying BG1 in BG2 technics 

Quote
Posted: Feb 4 2004, 01:56 PM   

On a similar topic:

I'm trying to see if I can make my multiple isntalls "lighter". Just like the shared CD2, CD3, CD4 and CD5 dirs, I'd like to have one "data" dir all installations could use. This dir takes up close to a Gig (940M) and it contains "read-only" (biff) resources like the CD{2,3,4,5} dirs.

So, I thought of a few ways to do this. One is to create a CD1 dir and move \data to CD1\Data. If I do this, do I need to update the Chitin.key file, or does the game ignore the CD entry there? Also, does the game actually use the CD1 entry in the Baldur.ini file?

I may try this anyway. The installations are taking up a lot of room... 

Quote
Posted: Mar 8 2004, 08:27 AM   
QUOTE (dorotea @ Mar 8 2004, 05:59 PM)
So, is there a reliable way to try and do it again? I am still unable to play Tutu and still crave to do it. Any updates lately that can help me without having to uninstall -reinstall my entire SoA first, and losing ability to play BG II? 


I've finally figured out how to avoid copying the "data" dir over, but I don't have a distributable binary for that yet. This saves almost 1Gig.

But if you can afford the extra Gig, you can still do this:

Say you have your game installed in C:\Program Files\Black Isle\BGII - SoA\

Create a new directory C:\Program Files\Black Isle\BG1Tutu

Copy everything under the "BGII - SoA" directory to the "BG1Tutu" directory except CD2, CD3, CD4 and CD5.

Edit "BG1Tutu\baldur.ini" so that the line with "HD0:=" uses the "BG1Tutu" directory (this is important).

Now unpack the bg1tutu package in to the "BG1Tutu" directory and run it. You should be all set after that.

And if that's confusing, see Ghrey's summation in the 2nd post.  ;)
Stupid is as stupid does.

Offline Daggerless

  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 16
Re: True need of two installations!
« Reply #6 on: June 29, 2004, 05:24:29 PM »
I followed these instruction to the letter and for some reason I couldn't get this method to work with tutu.  But I *did* copy the folder with the ToB patch and Baldurdash fixes and I *did* install tutu on the copied BG2 folder.  Could these two things somehow prevent tutu from working on multiple installs in my case?

Offline Littiz

  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 23
Re: True need of two installations!
« Reply #7 on: June 30, 2004, 10:32:19 AM »
Ghreyfain's way worked for me ;D

@Daggerless, maybe you should report exactly what errors you are getting.
Chances are that I have encountered them myself  ;)

BTW, I am Officially Impressed.
I couldn't believe I could actually start with the kit created for Refinements. :o :)
TuTu seems great for what I've seen/heard, keep up the work!

Offline CamDawg

  • Infidel
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 832
  • Dreaming of a red Xmas
    • The Gibberlings Three
Re: True need of two installations!
« Reply #8 on: June 30, 2004, 01:04:18 PM »
I had written a step-by-step guide for doing this. Perhaps it will help as well, or the related discussion thread.
The Gibberlings Three - Home of IE Mods

The BG2 Fixpack - All the fixes of Baldurdash, plus a few hundred more. Now available, with more fixes being added in every release.

Offline Daggerless

  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 16
Re: True need of two installations!
« Reply #9 on: July 01, 2004, 02:15:34 AM »
Those are exactly like Ghreyfain's instructions.  I've re-read them a dozen times and tried this method at least 3 different times.  Perhaps its some sort of local problem unique to my setup, although BG2 was working fine in the seperate folder, tutu did not.  As for now, ill be content with one copy, simply because its all I really need.

Thanks though. :)

Offline MagusWizardo

  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 40
Re: True need of two installations!
« Reply #10 on: July 17, 2004, 09:56:01 PM »
You can also use the Multi Install Tool.  However,  BG1Tutu and BG Trilogy have yet to be tested with it. It is not possible to install the OFFICIAL patches onto a cloned install, however it is more than possible to install them onto the base innstall and then clone it. The Baldurdash fixpack and the SP Fixpack can be installed onto the clone without problems, and the only other patch I can think of which forces itself into the main folder is the Baldurdash Language fix. And for it, you can always install it, move the updated TLK to the clone, and revert the original to the backup TLK. :) 
Installing TOB onto a clone install without it being on the original is theoreticallty possible, but tedious, using this method:
1 ) Install SOA .
2 ) Make a clone of it.
3 ) Install TOB
4 ) Make a Clone of it. 
5 ) Uninstall TOB.
6 ) Do NOT let it uninstall SOA.
7 ) Copy everything except BGMAIN.EXE from your SOA Clone to your original install folder.
8 ) Delete the SOA clone folder.

If the multi install tool does not work for TuTu, you can always use the clone as your SOA/TOB game, and your original install as your Tutu game. Tutu will be fully tested with the multi install tool soon, however, since I am now playing BG1 for the first time. :)

Offline colbruce

  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 40
  • You have to go IN to go OUT.
    • Blue Button
Re: True need of two installations!
« Reply #11 on: July 29, 2004, 07:19:30 PM »
OK, you guys ready for a mental excercise?  I want to do this, slightly different or in reverse -- in that I am not starting with a clean install to clone, I'm starting with an already mod'd install that needs to be de-mod'd for Tutu to install.  Surely some of you have had this need:

I currently have installed:

BG1
TOSC + patch
--
BG2 SOA
BG2 TOB + patch 24698
Baldurdash
--
TDD The Darkest Day mod + 103A patch*
Weidu mods - various; Tactics + EOU + Item Upgrade*
*I realize these are not PP's mods but thanks for your help anyway!

What I want to end up with after doing multi-install:

I want to clone my BG2 installation with the mods (let's call this BG2alt).  Then uninstall the BG2 mods from just one of the BG2's (the one still called BGII-SOA?).  Then install BGTutu.

Should I be trying to install Tutu (and remove other mods) from the copy BG2alt, or from the BGII-SOA?

The worrisome question is, How can I uninstall my mods from one installation of BG2, and leave them intact on the other?  If so, which one to uninstall mods from.
-or- Would it be better for me to completely uninstall the mods, THEN clone, THEN Tutu, then re-install my old BG2 mods on the non-Tutu clone and drop my old mod savegames back in?
  • OPTION A: Cloning the mod'd BG2 and leaving it intact somewhere while de-mod'ing the original
  • OPTION B: Cloning the mod'd BG2 and de-mod'ing BG2alt as a base for Tutu, leaving original BG2 intact with my mods
  • OPTION C: Uninstalling mods or whole game, cloning a clean copy for Tutu, then reinstalling mods on the clone

I want to be able to play either (1) BGTutu, or (2) BG2mygame with my old mods intact.

I have read CamDawg's guide, and it recommends "This is best done on a new installation before mods."  but for me, it's too late for that.
« Last Edit: July 29, 2004, 07:33:56 PM by colbruce »

Offline Ghreyfain

  • PPG
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 4705
  • Gender: Male
    • Pocket Plane Group
Re: True need of two installations!
« Reply #12 on: July 30, 2004, 01:12:37 AM »
I'm not sure on how the uninstallation process for TDD actually works.

If you have a backed-up override folder, you could just use that in BG2alt, after first having deleted the override folder located there.  Also, you may need a virgin chitin.key file, as TDD adds (not sure on this) BIFF archives as part of its installation.

Hopefully hlidskialf or someone who knows about TDD and other .tlk mods will stumble by and read this.
Earn Money Sleeping.

Offline Cybersquirt

  • Socialist Evil-Doer
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 816
  • Gender: Female
Re: True need of two installations!
« Reply #13 on: July 30, 2004, 06:44:46 AM »
TDD is a unique animal.  It replaces files, not only in the override dir*, but also in the data dir.  Far as I know, there is no uninstall for TDD.  But, it's been a long time.

* In fact, iirc, it deletes the override dir.

This would be a good Q for the Mod discussion forum (hint, hint  ;))

I, personally, would just delete everything - reinstall, patch, and backup the dialog.tlk, chitin.key and override dir from BG2 (I burned mine to a CD) THEN go mod crazy.

(btw, "everything" would include your save games)
« Last Edit: July 30, 2004, 06:53:28 AM by Cybersquirt »
Stupid is as stupid does.

Offline seanas

  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 131
Re: True need of two installations!
« Reply #14 on: July 30, 2004, 09:11:01 AM »
TDD has an uninstaller, it's called

uninstall_TDD103.exe

and comes with the TDD install. during installation, TDD backs-up the usual suspects - override folder, chitin.key and dialog.tlk - into a TDD_Backup folder - and returns these contents to the main directory on uninstall. and although i havent done it recently, i *have* played a functioning BGII install after uninstalling TDD. it's probably wiser to uninstall Weidu mods before uninstalling TDD, though, just in case.

as for yr options Col Bruce, i'd choose A or B: clone yr TDD install, de-mod one of them (shouldnt matter which one, AFAIK) and use it for Tutu.
"those who like TDD are already busy giving install advice to newbies" - the bigg

Offline colbruce

  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 40
  • You have to go IN to go OUT.
    • Blue Button
Re: True need of two installations!
« Reply #15 on: July 30, 2004, 04:29:58 PM »
I appreciate the replies!  Still would love to hear from hild if he sees this.

I've heard from other people who had problems after uninstalling TDD, but I haven't tried it yet.

If I do option A or B, and I attempt to run TDD-uninstall & WEIDU Uninstallers, will these uninstallers know which clone to uninstall from?  Hopefully the uninstallers reside within the folder, and thus would work on whichever clone folder I'm in.

Any more advice welcome.

Someone suggested this belongs in a different forum?

Offline Ghreyfain

  • PPG
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 4705
  • Gender: Male
    • Pocket Plane Group
Re: True need of two installations!
« Reply #16 on: July 30, 2004, 05:50:29 PM »
The thing is that I'm not sure whether the TDD uninstaller uninstalls based on the folder it's run from (in which case you could uninstall the TDD files located in bg2alt, if the uninstaller is there) or if it looks at the registry to see where BG2 (and thus TDD) is installed.

Try asking at Studios and see if hlid notices your post.  Or someone who knows something about TDD.
Earn Money Sleeping.

Offline Reverendratbastard

  • Perfunctory Psychopomp
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 728
  • Gender: Male
  • "to keep my metaphysics warm" -T.S.Eliot
somewhat casual n00b alert
« Reply #17 on: October 18, 2004, 03:23:39 PM »
 EDIT: i am one blind m'er f'er.
« Last Edit: October 18, 2004, 03:44:01 PM by Reverendratbastard »
the lord of murder shall perish, yadda yadda yadda.

Offline fallen demon

  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 178
Re: True need of two installations!
« Reply #18 on: November 10, 2004, 09:57:12 PM »
One could bypass the problems Ghreyfain mentioned by going into tdd backup folder and manually replacing the files to the correct directory.
"I choose to believe what I was programed to believe."
Futurama quotes rock

Offline Silk

  • Lurker First Class
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 401
  • Gender: Female
  • A cat of many colours
Re: True need of two installations!
« Reply #19 on: March 12, 2005, 03:34:24 AM »
All right, I've come to the conclusion that I'm going to need at least two installs - I've got room for them, so why not?

I want to keep one completely clean install with just the patches.

What I don't remember is whether ALL the mods ask you for a destination folder or just install automatically?

Also (colour me a newb on this) but why do you need to change the .ini file in the duplicates?  I'm sure there's an obvious reason, it just won't come to me right now.  <thinks> ... unless it's otherwise the computer won't know where the hell to look as you'll have 2-3 duplicates of the same thing?

<sighs> Why didn't I stay a lurker???????  Oh ... don't answer that one. :P
"Some say that our destinies may be read in the stars, that the plans of the gods are revealed to those who but know where to look.  They speak it true but their location is false, for I have seen my destiny shining in your eyes" (Anomen, PPG NPC Flirt Pack)

"You know you're tired when you get up from the desk and the headset's still around your neck"

Offline Silk

  • Lurker First Class
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 401
  • Gender: Female
  • A cat of many colours
Re: True need of two installations!
« Reply #20 on: March 12, 2005, 06:50:10 AM »
Okay, having now got two clean installs ... why does saving a game in the "new" one save the game in the "old" one too?
"Some say that our destinies may be read in the stars, that the plans of the gods are revealed to those who but know where to look.  They speak it true but their location is false, for I have seen my destiny shining in your eyes" (Anomen, PPG NPC Flirt Pack)

"You know you're tired when you get up from the desk and the headset's still around your neck"

Offline Silk

  • Lurker First Class
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 401
  • Gender: Female
  • A cat of many colours
Re: True need of two installations!
« Reply #21 on: March 12, 2005, 09:31:29 AM »
<growls quietly>  Okay, I loaded Dungeon Be Gone in the "new" install, chose it as the destination directory and nothing. No Jasper.  I then tried it using the default and I've got Jasper all right but he's in both installs.

What am I doing wrong?

(Just bear with me, I'll learn ... eventually)
"Some say that our destinies may be read in the stars, that the plans of the gods are revealed to those who but know where to look.  They speak it true but their location is false, for I have seen my destiny shining in your eyes" (Anomen, PPG NPC Flirt Pack)

"You know you're tired when you get up from the desk and the headset's still around your neck"

Offline Silk

  • Lurker First Class
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 401
  • Gender: Female
  • A cat of many colours
Re: True need of two installations!
« Reply #22 on: March 12, 2005, 08:30:50 PM »
Look, I know it's a Tutu forum but I had to test the installation with something that was going to show immediately, that's whay I used DBG.

I really do need help here ... please?
"Some say that our destinies may be read in the stars, that the plans of the gods are revealed to those who but know where to look.  They speak it true but their location is false, for I have seen my destiny shining in your eyes" (Anomen, PPG NPC Flirt Pack)

"You know you're tired when you get up from the desk and the headset's still around your neck"

Offline Ghreyfain

  • PPG
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 4705
  • Gender: Male
    • Pocket Plane Group
Re: True need of two installations!
« Reply #23 on: March 12, 2005, 08:59:47 PM »
To be honest, I have no idea what the problem you're describing is.  How would Jasper even show up in Tutu?
Earn Money Sleeping.

Offline Silk

  • Lurker First Class
  • Planewalker
  • *****
  • Posts: 401
  • Gender: Female
  • A cat of many colours
Re: True need of two installations!
« Reply #24 on: March 12, 2005, 09:02:47 PM »
He wouldn't.  I don't have BGI installed yet, I was trying to see if the copy I made was working and only had BGII to work with.
"Some say that our destinies may be read in the stars, that the plans of the gods are revealed to those who but know where to look.  They speak it true but their location is false, for I have seen my destiny shining in your eyes" (Anomen, PPG NPC Flirt Pack)

"You know you're tired when you get up from the desk and the headset's still around your neck"

 

With Quick-Reply you can write a post when viewing a topic without loading a new page. You can still use bulletin board code and smileys as you would in a normal post.

Warning: this topic has not been posted in for at least 120 days.
Unless you're sure you want to reply, please consider starting a new topic.

Name: Email:
Verification:
Type the letters shown in the picture
Listen to the letters / Request another image
Type the letters shown in the picture:
What color is grass?:
What is the seventh word in this sentence?:
What is five minus two (use the full word)?: