Pocket Plane Group

BG1 Completed Mods => BG1Tutu General => Topic started by: fkirenicus on September 15, 2006, 02:45:22 AM

Title: "Kiel the Legion Killer casts Cure Light Wounds"....
Post by: fkirenicus on September 15, 2006, 02:45:22 AM
...but the friggin' bugger is dead  ;D

Yes, a strange thing happened yestereve...

I reloaded my last savegame in Durlag's Tower Dungeon level 2, and saw to my great surprise that the info screen showed: "Kiel the Legion Killer casts Cure Light Wounds".

"Strange", I thought, because I had cleaned the level before saving last time.

After a time, I was visited by Kiel the Legion Killer... Not ONE, but TWO!
And placing the cursor over them showed:
"Kiel the Legion Killer - DEAD"

Still, they cast Cure Light Wounds en masse, and then attacked me... And, as I suspected, I could not harm them... So, I had to resort to CTRL+Y to ... disable... them.  ;D

I guess this might be an error that a mod has introduced, but I don't think that the area script has been changed... Will delve further into this when I get home from work today.

Which reminds me... I should be working right now.  ;D
Title: Re: "Kiel the Legion Killer casts Cure Light Wounds"....
Post by: berelinde on September 15, 2006, 08:04:07 AM
I could be wrong, and usually am, but don't some "last actions" take place, even after the death of the actors?

I'm thinking specifically about dead mages casting contingencies, stoneskins, etc.
Title: Re: "Kiel the Legion Killer casts Cure Light Wounds"....
Post by: WizWom on September 15, 2006, 11:29:50 AM
well, animations sometimes pllay after a technical death; but it's quite possible the script does not recognize that the creature has died and clear any queued actions.  I think that's testable... just think of the cheese possibilities if you could set up one of your NPCs as dead but active like this :-)
Title: Re: "Kiel the Legion Killer casts Cure Light Wounds"....
Post by: CamDawg on September 15, 2006, 12:00:56 PM
This can be an issue if the script is not checking for all forms of death before, say, polymorphing or replacing a creature. The lesser clay golems in CI had this bug in BG2: if you killed them before setting off the alarm in Ellisime's room, they would transform to their active versions without bothering to check if they were already dead, leaving the party to face two lesser clay golems that were albeled as 'dead'.
Title: Re: "Kiel the Legion Killer casts Cure Light Wounds"....
Post by: fkirenicus on September 15, 2006, 01:22:48 PM
This can be an issue if the script is not checking for all forms of death before, say, polymorphing or replacing a creature. The lesser clay golems in CI had this bug in BG2: if you killed them before setting off the alarm in Ellisime's room, they would transform to their active versions without bothering to check if they were already dead, leaving the party to face two lesser clay golems that were albeled as 'dead'.

That may well be. After all, the creatures on this level apart from the Dwarven Doomguards and the occasional Ghast are Greater Doppelgangers.

It's just that... I cannot recall I had the same problem in BG1 "proper"...  ???
Title: Re: "Kiel the Legion Killer casts Cure Light Wounds"....
Post by: Macready on September 16, 2006, 09:02:41 PM
Hello -

This problem was actually reported once before, but I shelved it because I was unable to reproduce it.  At some point I may take another crack using Cam's information as a guide.
Title: Re: "Kiel the Legion Killer casts Cure Light Wounds"....
Post by: Darvon on June 24, 2007, 10:10:24 PM
I've just gotten the same bug then.  This thread came up in google when I searched for it so I guess it must be a tutu specific one.  I'm using the latest version of easytutu, not sure if this bug has already been addressed in one of the beta releases however.
Title: Re: "Kiel the Legion Killer casts Cure Light Wounds"....
Post by: Macready on June 25, 2007, 05:19:44 AM
Hello -

I've just gotten the same bug then.  This thread came up in google when I searched for it so I guess it must be a tutu specific one.  I'm using the latest version of easytutu, not sure if this bug has already been addressed in one of the beta releases however.

I haven't done anything with this yet, aside from that first attempt to reproduce the issue (which was unsuccessful).  It's on my list.