Post reply

Warning: this topic has not been posted in for at least 120 days.
Unless you're sure you want to reply, please consider starting a new topic.
Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message icon:

Verification:
Type the letters shown in the picture
Listen to the letters / Request another image

Type the letters shown in the picture:
What color is grass?:
What is the seventh word in this sentence?:
What is five minus two (use the full word)?:

shortcuts: hit alt+s to submit/post or alt+p to preview


Topic Summary

Posted by: Andyr
« on: November 12, 2005, 07:58:02 PM »

Hey, cool.
Posted by: SimDing0
« on: November 12, 2005, 07:52:16 PM »

No.
Posted by: Andyr
« on: November 12, 2005, 07:46:44 PM »

I am not sure I get it 100% - if, using your method, a character who is already Fallen does an Evil act (e.g. slaying a peasant) will they lose their abilities again automatically (as if they had Fallen again)? Yes/no?
Posted by: SimDing0
« on: November 12, 2005, 07:41:33 PM »

Fallen paladin is a flag independent of class, so they remain fallen regardless of what you change. (It doesn't actually matter either way-- they can fall whenever and it'll still work the same, but it's cleaner if they just stay fallen the whole time.)
Posted by: Andyr
« on: November 12, 2005, 07:31:07 PM »

Yes, but when they do something Bad, wouldn't they still Fall (since you've ChangeClass()ed them back to Paladin)? Or are they still labelled 'Fallen Paladin' and so immune to further Falling, or something?
Posted by: SimDing0
« on: November 12, 2005, 07:22:50 PM »

I'm saying they'd already be fallen. The kit re-applies the paladin abilities.
Posted by: Andyr
« on: November 12, 2005, 06:33:39 PM »

But then surely if their Reputation dropped then they'd Fall still?
Posted by: SimDing0
« on: November 12, 2005, 04:48:03 PM »

If you AddKit() a Fighter kit will it cause issues with the Paladin quickbar?
You nest the AddKit() action between two commands to change to and from the fighter class, ie.

ChangeClass(Player1,FIGHTER)
ActionOverride(Player1,AddKit(CAVALIER))
ChangeClass(Player1,PALADIN)

As far as I can tell, the only side effect is greying out the Turn Undead button momentarily. I haven't been able to pause it and see "Fighter" on the record screen at any point.
AddKit like this conveniently calculates the right number of abilities each time rather than stacking with itself, but has to be reapplied every level-up since this isn't done automatically (this is the weak point of the solution).
Posted by: Andyr
« on: November 12, 2005, 06:57:38 AM »

That won't work terribly well, since there's no way to completely remove the original reputation display from the record screen. What I'm considering is having all paladins fall at the beginning of the game (since this conveniently hides any potential spamming of the info window) and then re-applying their abilities using AddKit (the kits used would actually be fighter kits, since paladin kits don't correctly add abilities if you're fallen). I'd then have the ability to switch players to a special "Fallen Paladin" kit when neccessary.

If you AddKit() a Fighter kit will it cause issues with the Paladin quickbar?

I'm thinking, if you could get this to work, we could possibly use the same method in Divine Remix for a Blackguard and to open up Ranger kits to all alignments.
Posted by: Grim Squeaker
« on: November 08, 2005, 08:48:05 AM »

Ah shit.  Just noticed the fact that reputation didn't have a token on the record screen.  Why to Bioware suck so much cock?
Posted by: SimDing0
« on: November 08, 2005, 07:50:53 AM »

That won't work terribly well, since there's no way to completely remove the original reputation display from the record screen. What I'm considering is having all paladins fall at the beginning of the game (since this conveniently hides any potential spamming of the info window) and then re-applying their abilities using AddKit (the kits used would actually be fighter kits, since paladin kits don't correctly add abilities if you're fallen). I'd then have the ability to switch players to a special "Fallen Paladin" kit when neccessary.
Posted by: Grim Squeaker
« on: November 08, 2005, 06:47:45 AM »

Well, if all rep changing events could be changed to a modification of a variable, then this should be possible i.e. replace ReputationInc(X) with IncrementGlobal("NewReputationVariable","GLOBAL",X), ReputationSet(X) with SetGlobal("NewReputationVariable","GLOBAL",X) and the reputation token in the GUI with a token for this variable.  Then using scripts any falling/regaining can be done via script.  The problem is with my assumption at the start: I'm not convinced all rep changing events can be changed as some of them may be hardcoded e.g. how does theft from stores work, killing peasants etc.
Posted by: Andyr
« on: November 07, 2005, 06:19:10 PM »

simding???/
Posted by: SixOfSpades
« on: November 07, 2005, 06:18:01 PM »

Given that some aspects of Falling/Atonement can be scripted (Paladins & Rangers will immediately Fall if they accept the Nymph Cloak in Hell, their Fallen status can be redeemed as a result of their stronghold quests), and the Virtue mod essentially-short-circuits the entire Reputation variable, it's my guess that the entire process of Falling can be run through channels solely controlled by scripting, as opposed to hardcoded variable dependence. But that's just a guess on my part.
Posted by: Andyr
« on: November 06, 2005, 12:50:50 PM »

What do you reckon you can make the engine do differently re: Falling, and how?