Author Topic: ToB needs a Revamp  (Read 3368 times)

Offline WildGirlMods

• Planewalker
ToB needs a Revamp
« on: June 15, 2009, 08:07:19 PM »
Hello all!  While I've played BGII forever, I've just discovered modding myself.  I'm not very good at it yet, but it's lots of fun.  And you all are awesome for figuring this stuff out and putting it out there for people like me to enjoy.  Now it's time I give back to the community.

So we all know ToB isn't very good; the plot somehow manages to be disjointed and too linear at the same time.  Any new characters are hardly characters at all.  And the poor, poor fourth wall.  So, I want to improve it. 

I've started with the opening sequence in Suldanesselar.  Now you don't get obnoxious messages over your head telling you how to play the game.  You get a conversation with Ellesime that at least makes sense.  And you don't get jerked around teleported all over the place.

Let me know if this interests anyone at all.  I'm very open to ideas and helpful suggestions.  A word of warning, however; I am flaky and may stop modding after a month or two.  So get it while it's hot!

You can find what I've done so far at http://sites.google.com/site/bgiimods/

Thanks!

Offline Kulyok

• Global Moderator
  • Planewalker
  • The perfect moment is now.
Re: ToB needs a Revamp
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2009, 12:13:29 AM »
Hey, welcome to PPG,

If you want, check the Longer Road mod - it has a conversation with Ellesime at the beginning, too. And Wheels of Prophecy mod - it has some ToB improvements(besides those that Ascension/Turnabout make).

Offline WildGirlMods

• Planewalker
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2009, 04:24:44 PM »
Conflicts!  Just like a real mod.  :)  Thanks for the welcome and the heads up!  I've made it so Longer Road and my changes work together.  I've yet to check out Wheels of Prophecy.  They change a little in Sudanessalar (I found the same extended ancients sequence they did!) so that needs doing.

Offline Kaeloree